We aspire
for a knowledge truly knowing, for a power truly powerful

Saurav Dutta (SRF)

Academic Background and Achievements:

B.Sc.(2012)West Bengal State University
M.Sc.(2014)IIT Hyderabad
Qualified GATE(2014),CSIR-Net(2013)
Email: sauravcy12m1016@gmail.com

Research area of interest:

I am currently pursuing my research on physical perturbation of the excited state dynamics of transition metal complexes by both theoratically and experimentally.

R. L. Narendran (SRF)

Academic Background and Achievements:

B.Sc. (2009) Loyola College, Chennai
M.Sc. (2011) Loyola College, Chennai
Qualified UGC-JRF (2013), GATE (2014)
Email: rlnarendran@gmail.com

Research area of interest:

I'm currently investigating development of dipole gated charge transfer process in aromatic donor-acceptor system through non-invasive stimuli in the form of light.

Abdul Sattar Mohammad ( Ext. Registration (MRF))

Academic Background and Achievements:

B.Sc. (2009), M.P.C Andhra Loyola College, Vijayawad ,Andhra Pradesh
M.Sc. (2011), in Chemistry, Loyola college,chennai,Tamilnadu
M.Phil (2015),in chemistry,Loyola college, Chennai
Email: abdulelectrophile@gmail.com

Research area of interest:

I'm working towards developing polymer nano composites. My focus is on design and interfacial engineering of polymer -filler interface towards high performance composites for tyre application.

Dr. E. Varathan (Post Doc)

Academic Background and Achievements:

B.Sc. (2006) Chemistry, Thiruvalluvar University
M.Sc. (2010) Chemistry, Bharathidasan University
Ph.D. (2016) Chemistry, Central Leather Research Institute (CSIR), Chennai
Email: varathan.elumalai85@gmail.com

Research area of interest:

Computational design of organic host molecules for blue PHOLEDs,Designing new donor molecules for OPVs and DSSC applications and Design and development of organic emitting molecules for TADF application

Dr. Murali Samala (Post Doc)

Academic Background and Achievements:

B.Sc. (2008) Sri Krishnadevaraya University
M.Sc. (2010) Sri Krishnadevaraya University
Qualified CSIR-JRF (2011)
Ph.D. (2017) Academy of Scientific and Innovative Research-CLRI. (AcSIR-CLRI)
Email: murali10.samala@gmail.com

Research area of interest:

Supramolecular self-assembly of low molecular weight compounds (bio-building blocks). Design and synthesis of multi-stimuli-responsive soft materials (biosensors) using bio-inspired molecules.

Mr.Shyam Sundar Matta ( M.Sc)

Academic Background and Achievements:

M.Sc. Chemistry, Indian Institute of Technology Madras (2018 expected)
B.Sc. Chemistry,Motilal Nehru College, Delhi University (2016)

Research area of interest:

Modulation of optical properties of QD suspensions


Qualified IIT-JAM with AIR-187 in Chemistry
Acquiring Merit cum Means Scholarship from 2016-2017 through IIT Madras

Mr.Vishal Chourasia (M.Sc)

Academic Background and Achievements:

M.Sc in Chemistry, Indian Institute of Technology Madras(2018 expected)
B.Sc in Chemistry, Dyal Singh College, University of Delhi (2016)

Research area of interest:

Inorganic - Organic hybrids as functional materials


Inspire Fellow

Our Alumni

Dr. Arindam Das

Late Dr. Alok D. Bokare

Dr. Rashmi Ranjan Sahoo

Dr. Sankara Gayathri Radhakrishnan

Dr. Vijai Shankar Balachandran

Dr. Illa Ramakanth

Dr. P. Biji

Dr. K. Senthil Kumar

Dr. Nirod Kumar Sarangi

Dr. Nivarthi Ramesh

Dr. Geevarghese V Jacob

Dr. Sanjeeb Sutradhar

Dr. Nikhil Aggarwal

Scholars from our group have been awarded in various ways

Year Name Award(s)
2014 Dr. Nirod Kumar Sarangi Keshav - Ranganath Research Excellence Award
2011 Dr. K. Senthil Kumar Prof. Werner Best Thesis Award, IIT Madras, Marie-Curie Fellowship
2010 Dr. Illa Ramakanth Proficiency in Comprehensive Examination, IIT Madras
2009 Dr. Biji .P Selected for European School on Nanoscience and Nanotechnology (ESONN '07)
2008 Dr. B. Vijai Shankar Prof. Ms. Ramamurthy Best Thesis Award, Department of Chemistry, IIT Madras Prof. Werner Best Thesis Award, IIT Madras.
2006 Dr. S. Shankara Gayathri Prof. Werner Best Thesis Award, IIT Madras, AvH Fellowship
2004 Dr. Rashmi R Sahoo Long term Max-Planck Fellowship for pursuing Ph.D
2004 Dr. Alok D. Bokare Prof. H.J. Arnikar Best Thesis Award, Department of Atomic Energy, Bombay Prof. Werner Best Thesis Awards, IIT Madras
2000 Dr. Arindam Das AvH Fellowship