We aspire
for a knowledge truly knowing, for a power truly powerful

Dr. Biplab Roy (PDF)

Academic Background and Achievements:

Master Degree in Chemistry: University of North Bengal
Ph. D: University of North Bengal (Biophysical Chemistry): 2019
Research Scientist: Department of Chemical Engineering, National Cheng Kung University, Taiwan (from 1st April 2018 to 31st July, 2018)
Email: 010585@imail.iitm.ac.in

Research area of interest:

Preparation and characterization of different kinds of drug delivery systems (liposome, solid lipid nanoparticles and nanostructured lipid carriers), interaction between lipid monolayer/bilayers with different kinds of macro molecules (dendrimers, proteins, DNAs etc).

Akash Hiregange

Academic Background and Achievements:

M. Sc, Colloids and Interfaces Laboratory
Email: cy20c019@smail.iitm.ac.in

Research area of interest:

My research interests are particularly inclined towards Materials Chemistry and the use of computational techniques to study their properties. Currently I am working on theoretical aspects fullerene based functionalized materials. Since the discovery of fullerene research based on fullerene has seen an exponential growth. Even after three decades, some of its new properties still fascinates us and I aim to contribute my part in exploiting these properties in a way that it not only enhances our knowledge but also are beneficial to the mankind.

Saurav Dutta

Academic Background and Achievements:

B.Sc.(2012)West Bengal State University
M.Sc.(2014)IIT Hyderabad
Qualified GATE(2014),CSIR-Net(2013)
Email: sauravcy12m1016@gmail.com

Research area of interest:

I am currently pursuing my research on physical perturbation of the excited state dynamics of transition metal complexes by both theoratically and experimentally.

R. L. Narendran

Academic Background and Achievements:

B.Sc. (2009) Loyola College, Chennai
M.Sc. (2011) Loyola College, Chennai
Qualified UGC-JRF (2013), GATE (2014)
Email: rlnarendran@gmail.com

Research area of interest:

I'm currently investigating development of dipole gated charge transfer process in aromatic donor-acceptor system through non-invasive stimuli in the form of light.

M.Sc Project Students
Shyam Sundar Matta (2019) Vishal Chourasia (2019)
Mihirkumar Jha (2015) Sibali Debananth (2014)
Atanu Jha (2013) Debasis Saha (2013)
Rekha P (2012) Mahesh K (2010)
Ajay Mandal (2009) Sandeep Saha (2007)
Sandeep Mourya (2006) Soma Bhattacharya (2005)
V. Srivathsa (2002) L. Leo Solomon (1998)
B. Venugopal (1997) R. Lakshmanan (1996)
N. Jayanthi (1995) Rani Parvathy V. (1994)
R. Subasree (1993) Nithya R (2010, Stella Maries College, Chennai)

Our Alumni

Dr. Arindam Das

Late Dr. Alok D. Bokare

Dr. Rashmi Ranjan Sahoo

Dr. Sankara Gayathri Radhakrishnan

Dr. Vijai Shankar Balachandran

Dr. Illa Ramakanth

Dr. P. Biji

Dr. K. Senthil Kumar

Dr. Nirod Kumar Sarangi

Dr. Nivarthi Ramesh

Dr. Geevarghese V Jacob

Dr. Sanjeeb Sutradhar

Dr. Nikhil Aggarwal

Dr. Abdul Sattar Mohammad

Post-doctoral Fellows (past)

Dr. Mohd.Athar (2020 -2021)

Academic Background and Achievements:

B.Sc (2011) : H.N.B Garhwal University
M.Sc (2013) : BabaSaheb Bhimrao Ambedkar University (Gold Medalist)
Ph.D. (2019) : Central University of Gujarat (DST INSPIRE JRF/SRF)
PostDoc (Feb 2019 -Dec 2020): InStem, NCBS, Bangalore
IPDF (Dec 2020 – July 2021) : Department of Chemistry, IIT Madras
Email: mathar93@gmail.com

Research area of interest:

Computational investigation of electronic structures of substituted fullerenes and their non-covalent dyads pertaining to non-covalent interactions, charge-transfer and self-assembly behaviour.

Dr. E. Varathan (2017- 2019)

Academic Background and Achievements:

B.Sc. (2006) Chemistry, Thiruvalluvar University
M.Sc. (2010) Chemistry, Bharathidasan University
Ph.D. (2016) Chemistry, Central Leather Research Institute (CSIR), Chennai
Email: varathan.elumalai85@gmail.com

Research area of interest:

Computational design of organic host molecules for blue PHOLEDs,Designing new donor molecules for OPVs and DSSC applications and Design and development of organic emitting molecules for TADF application

Dr. S. Murali (2018 -2018)

Academic Background and Achievements:

B.Sc. (2008) Sri Krishnadevaraya University
M.Sc. (2010) Sri Krishnadevaraya University
Qualified CSIR-JRF (2011)
Ph.D. (2017) Academy of Scientific and Innovative Research-CLRI. (AcSIR-CLRI)
Email: murali10.samala@gmail.com

Research area of interest:

Supramolecular self-assembly of low molecular weight compounds (bio-building blocks). Design and synthesis of multi-stimuli-responsive soft materials (biosensors) using bio-inspired molecules.

Scholars from our group have been awarded in various ways

Year Name Award(s)
2021 Dr. Abdul Sattar Mohammad Prof. Langmuir Prize for the Best Ph.D Thesis in Physical and Theoretical Chemistry
2014 Dr. Nirod Kumar Sarangi Keshav - Ranganath Research Excellence Award
2011 Dr. K. Senthil Kumar Prof. Werner Best Thesis Award, IIT Madras, Marie-Curie Fellowship
2010 Dr. Illa Ramakanth Proficiency in Comprehensive Examination, IIT Madras
2009 Dr. Biji .P Selected for European School on Nanoscience and Nanotechnology (ESONN '07)
2008 Dr. B. Vijai Shankar Prof. Ms. Ramamurthy Best Thesis Award, Department of Chemistry, IIT Madras Prof. Werner Best Thesis Award, IIT Madras.
2006 Dr. S. Shankara Gayathri Prof. Werner Best Thesis Award, IIT Madras, AvH Fellowship
2004 Dr. Rashmi R Sahoo Long term Max-Planck Fellowship for pursuing Ph.D
2004 Dr. Alok D. Bokare Prof. H.J. Arnikar Best Thesis Award, Department of Atomic Energy, Bombay Prof. Werner Best Thesis Awards, IIT Madras
2000 Dr. Arindam Das AvH Fellowship